Tiered Submission Fees

As part of our continued effort to increase access for authors worldwide, the SFS is implementing tiered submission fees for our journals. Authors who reside in middle-income economies will be eligible to pay a reduced submission fee and authors who reside in low-income economies will be eligible for a fee waiver. While our journals have always offered some waivers for economic hardship, we have now formally defined the waiver options to increase transparency.

Update to RFS Referee Payments

Beginning April 1, 2022, referees will no longer accrue a payment balance for RFS. Referees will be paid for each report rather than being paid after their accounts reach the threshold.

Submitting authors will no longer be able to apply their reviewer account balances to pay submission fees beginning April 1.