Introducing the New RCFS Editor Andrew Ellul

We are very pleased to announce that Andrew Ellul has agreed to serve as the next Executive Editor of RCFS. His term will begin July 1, 2018. Previously Andrew was Associate Editor and Editor of the Review of Finance. Andrew is Professor of Finance and Fred T. Greene Chair in Finance at Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business. A more complete bio and his publications can be found at

Introducing RFS Executive Editor Itay Goldstein

We are very pleased to announce that Itay Goldstein has agreed to serve as the next Executive Editor of RFS. His term will begin July 1, 2018. Itay joined the RFS editorial team in 2013 as an Editor. Before that he served as Department Editor for Management Science and Editor for the Journal of Financial Intermediation.  He is currently Professor of Finance, Professor of Economics, and the Joel S. Ehrenkranz Family Professor at the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania. A more complete bio and his publications can be found at

Executive Editors

The Society of Financial Studies would like to thank our Executive Editors that have recently retired or are retiring at the end of June: Wayne Ferson (retired from RAPS effective January 1, 2018), Paolo Fulghieri (retiring from RCFS effective July 1, 2018), and Andrew Karolyi (retiring from RFS effective July 1, 2018). A more formal thank you to each of these Executive Editors is posted on the journal webpages at RAPS, RCFS, and RFS.

We are pleased to announce that the journals will continue to be led by accomplished finance researchers:

Jeffrey Pontiff took over as Executive Editor of RAPS on January 1, 2018.

Andrew Ellul will become Executive Editor of RCFS on July 1, 2018.

Itay Goldstein will become Executive Editor of RFS on July 1, 2018.

SFS Council Updates

SFS Council Chair Adlai Fisher’s term is ending on June 30. We thank him for his service to the Society. Raman Uppal will be the new Council Chair.

Council Member Renee Adams has been renewed for a three-year term.

All changes are effective July 1, 2018.

Winners of the Cavalcade Best Paper Awards

The winners of the SFS Cavalcade North America Best Paper Awards were announced at the Awards Reception on May 23 at SFS Cavalcade North America. We are pleased to share the winners:

Cavalcade Best Paper in Corporate Finance
“For Richer, For Poorer: Banker’s Skin-in-the-game and Risk Taking in New England, 1867-1880”
Peter Koudijs and Laura Salisbury
Prize: $1000

Cavalcade Best Paper in Asset Pricing
“What do fund flows reveal about asset pricing models and investor sophistication?”
Narasimhan Jegadeesh and Chandra Sekhar Mangipudi
Prize: $1000

The Arthur Warga Award for Best Paper in Fixed Income
“Sovereign credit risk and exchange rates: Evidence from CDS quanto spreads”
Patrick Augustin, Mikhail Chernov, and Dongho Song
Prize: $700

Congratulations to all our award winners!

Last Day for Early Registration!

Today is the last day to register at the discounted rate for SFS Cavalcade North America 2018. Early registration will be $100 for members and $140 for nonmembers. Beginning April 8, the registration rate will increase to $125 for members and $165 for nonmembers. The registration fee is waived for doctoral students (from any university) and Yale University faculty members.